Connect with us


Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, and UAE join BRICS



According to South Africa’s Foreign Minister Naledi Pandor, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates have officially confirmed their participation in the BRICS bloc after accepting invitations extended to them last year.

The five countries were extended invitations, along with Argentina, to join the bloc comprising Brazil, Russia, China, India and South Africa, at a summit in Johannesburg last August. Members say the move would help reshuffle a world order they view as outdated. Argentina has since declined the invitation to join.

“With respect to the BRICS confirmations, five out of the six have confirmed. That is Saudi Arabia, UAE, Ethiopia, Iran…and Egypt,” Pandor told a press conference on Wednesday. “Argentina has written to indicate that they will not act on this successful application by the previous administration to become full members of BRICS, and we accept their decision.”

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply